Smoke Free Illinois

The Wayne County Health Department, under an Illinois Tobacco Free Communities grant, conducts random compliance checks regarding the Smoke Free Illinois Act, on all county businesses. The Smoke Free Illinois Act protects the public from the harmful effects of exposure to tobacco smoke by prohibiting smoking in public places and places of employment and within 15 feet of any entrance, exit, windows that open, or ventilation intake of a public place or place of employment. This ban includes smoking cigarettes, electronic cigarettes or vape pens, cigars, pipes, herbs such as clove, or any other lighted smoking equipment.

The Smoke Free Illinois Act requires “No Smoking” signs or the international “No Smoking” symbol, consisting of a pictorial representation of a burning cigarette enclosed in a red circle with a red bar across it, shall be clearly and conspicuously posted in each public place and place of employment where smoking is prohibited by this Act by the owner, operator, manager, or other person in control that place. These signs can be obtained at the Wayne County Health Department. A 10W x 14H sign that can be printed off is provided below.

Visit for more information about cessation or to chat online with a nurse, respiratory therapist, or certified tobacco-treatment counselor or call 1-866-QUIT-YES.  (1-866-784-8937).

For additional smoking cessation resources, such as smokefree apps, smokefree texting programs and to build your own quit plan visit

Contact us:

Mark Elliott, BA/MBA
Public Health Educator/Food Safety Coordinator